Auto. Dream and Matter

Auto. Dream and Matter, May 15 – September 21, 2009 / October 2, 2009 – January 10, 2010, Laboral, Gijon, Spain / Dos de Mayo Art Center, Madrid, Spain.

AUTO.SUENO Y MATERIA [AUTO. DREAM AND MATERIAL]is an exhibition project featuring around one hundred works by over sixty artists. The exhibition mines the depth of influence of the automobile within contemporary art, or more precisely, the relationship between car culture and art creation in recent decades. The lead role assigned to the automobile as a mainstay of 20th century culture and as a symbol of our consumer society, encourages us to address the art-car binomial from more than a strictly aesthetic realm, instead expanding our perspective to embrace social, political and anthropological considerations.

The powerful symbolic potential of the automobile, capable of exemplifying, synthesising or channelling complex discourses on the reality of each moment, continues exciting the interest of many artists and one might well say that it is even stronger than in previous decades. The content of this exhibition lies precisely in that interest and in the fruits it has borne in recent years. The vast majority of the works presented come from the last two decades but with a heavy accent on the current moment. A period in which the reading of the car from an art perspective took on such density and complexity as well as critical perspective and detached biting wit. Throughout the 20th century the automobile was one of the most effective media for the material embodiment of dreams. Now, since crossing the threshold to this new century, artists are questioning a new the reality of those dreams.

ARTISTS (A SELECTION): Roy Arden, Eric Aupol, Hansop de Beeck, Valérie Belin, Rut Blees Luxemburg, Etienne Bossut, Edward Burtynsky, Hervé Coqueret, Stéphane Couturier, Félix Curto, Stephen Dean, Jeremy Dickinson, Juan Fernández, Juan del Junco, Panos Kokkinias, Annika Larsson, Zilla Leutenegger, Maider López, Chip Lord, Vik Muniz, Ahmet Ögüt, Sven Pahlsson, Panamarenko, Martin Parr, Betsabé Romero, Michael Samuels, Corinna Schnitt, Frank Scurti, Jim Shaw, Dirk Skreber, Amy Stein, Xavier Veilhan, Koen Wastijn, Erwin Wurm